wlabeachgirl

good eats & travel experiences

Dinner: Yard House in Marina del Rey, CA

Dinner: Yard House in Marina del Rey, CA

AREA: Marina del Rey is in the process of a revitalization at the Marina Marketplace which is good for the most part. (Sucks because parking has always been quick n free which is probably going to change) Biggest changes are Equinox replaced LA Fitness & Souplantation -AND- AMC Dine In Theatres replaced Cineplex Odeon Theatres. Luckily Barnes & Noble Bookstore is still there which I’m a fan of. Seriously the only chain bookstore around the WLA area. Can’t forget, Sport Chalet somehow survived and they just remodeled. The old AMC theatres is being remodeled so luckily still a more affordable theatre option then the dine in. Lots of changes which seem almost complete and for the best. It’s an area I grew up around and glad it’s becoming a new hot spot.

YARD HOUSE: I somehow went 2x in the same week. Monday night with the Sr. & Friday night with my girls. Unplanned, it all just happened. Monday night there was a hockey game so bar area was busy though still plenty tables available and not crazy but rather lively. Friday we arrived around 7pm and it was pretty busy. Wait was just over an hour, yikes so we ordered beers at the bar and found an empty space to stand. About 20 minutes later our buzzer went off. Apparently a lot of people decided not to wait for a table so we were bumped us up the  list. SCORE! We were seated in one of the super long booths which I love. Was told 8 fit comfortably though a group of 12 petite gals were recently in and somehow made it work. The booths feature views of the keg room which I think is kinda cool. While the food may not be the best, it’s not bad either. For what it is, I will continue to come back since it’s really about the atmosphere, music & beers available while having a bite to eat.

SERVICE:

  • 1st Visit our waiter was great. Had a good personality. Service/Everything went well. My only complaint would be my beer came out way too late. I ordered the 23rd Street Pale Ale and apparently they had to change out the kegs. This took way too long but I finally got my drink and all else well.
  • 2nd Visit: Our waitress was good too. Actually now that I think of it, she helped me out. I wasn’t happy with my moscow mule (too sweet) and she happily exchanged it out for my safe drink, a beer. Again, food came out within a reasonable time & we left happy and ready to hit the streets.

// bill totals: 1st Visit – 2 people  $65.73 + tip  (wings, burger, orange chicken, 1/2 yard beer, pint beer)

// bill totals: 2nd Visit – 5 gals  $136 .30 + tip  (calamari, ahi crunch salad, petite filet, caesar salad, thai noodle salad, chix/avocado sandwich, taco plate, pint beer, pint cider, pineapple express, frozen margarita & moscow mule)

Enjoy the Food & Gal Pics! Included the gals for good memories.. xoxo ladies.

**Just realized never really discussed the best thing of this place. Their large selection of brews on tap. While I normally just go for beers and an appetizer, these 2x past times was more about the food. Oh well, it is what it is. Do know Yard House 1st opened here in Long Beach, CA. Read about the owner & how he started by clicking here.

One comment on “Dinner: Yard House in Marina del Rey, CA

  1. Sylvia
    July 3, 2013

    Fun times with the girls!!

Leave a comment